28 Hour Class "G" License Course
As stated in Florida Statute 493, an applicant for a Florida class “G” statewide firearms license must take a minimum of 28 hours of range and classroom training within the past 12 months.
A “G” license allows the security officer, private investigator (or intern) to perform duties in an armed capacity. This training must be taught by a class “K” firearms instructor.
Class "G" License
In order for you to obtain a Class “G” statewide firearms license, you must:
Be at least 18 Years of age.
Be a United States citizen or deemed a permanent legal resident alien by the Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).
Provide current residence address. A P.O. Box is not considered a residence.
Class “G” license applicants must either already possess or must be applying for the state class “D” security officer license, a class “CC” private investigator intern license or a class “C” private investigator license.
This is a 3 day course; Day 1 & 2 are ten hour blocks starting at 0800 and ending at 1830 with a 30 minute lunch break. Day 3 consists of 8 hours of range time.
The cost of this course is $175 and you must bring 200 rounds of ammunition. Targets and range fees are on us.
Per Florida statute 493, security officers are allowed to use the following calibers; 380, 38 (in a 38 or 357 revolver), 9mm, 40 or a 45.
To advance on your studying, you can download Chapter 493 at the following link:
Students that pass the final exam and range qualification will be given proof of completion to provide to the State when they apply for the Class "G" license.
Once you have signed up for this class, you will receive instructions on location and equipment you should bring.